clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Charleston Classic Update: Southern Illinois out, Auburn and Murray State in

Charleston Classic Update comes from ESPN's Andy Katz, confirming Murray State's inclusion and a second change:

Murray State went for the sure thing and decided to play in the Charleston (S.C.) Classic over being in a Kansas State NIT Season Tip-Off pod that wouldn’t guarantee a trip to New York for the semifinals. The Racers complete the eight-team field in the Charleston tourney, scheduled for Nov. 15-18, with Baylor, Boston College, Charleston, Colorado, Dayton, St. John’s and Auburn.

This looks to be a very solid field for St. John's to participate in.

The Charleston Classic is hosted by the Southern Conference (the College of Charleston is a member) and ESPN. Murray State returns five seniors and is a good addition. Auburn, under Tony Barbee, have struggled in the SEC. The team has lost six players since last season.

Baylor and Murray State should be favorites, with Colorado and the St. John's Red Storm as the competitive upstarts.

St. John's expects to be far more competitive this season. Along with the return of head coach Steve Lavin, the team returns 73% of the team's minutes and 69% of the scoring, while bringing in talented players for depth. Facing off against another creative and talented squad will sharpen the team's tools or weapons and better prepare them for the rigors and challenges of Big East play.

Last season's Charleston Classic final featured Northwestern and Seton Hall, with the Pirates losing to the Wildcats in a thriller.

Follow the Rumble on Facebook | Follow on Twitter: Rumble In The Garden | Tim | Quinn | Pico | Follow on Tumblr