clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

St. John’s MBB: Big East releases full conference schedule

We now know the full schedule for St. John’s upcoming basketball season.

NCAA Basketball: Big East Tournament-St. John vs DePaul Vincent Carchietta-USA TODAY Sports

Big East fans were treated this afternoon to the release of the conference’s full schedule. Although the opponents are not any surprise, basketball fans can officially start circling significant dates on their calendar.

Once again, the Big East will have more broadcast network exposure than any other conference. The conference will get 18 games on Fox, as well as four on CBS. Furthermore, over 100 games will be aired on FS1, home of many Big East telecasts. The television schedule is pretty much rounded out with 16 contests on CBS Sports Network.

For St. John’s, they will get four chances to play on some of the Big East’s most coveted television slots. Their early January matchup at Xavier will be aired on Fox, as well as their home bout with Seton Hall just about two weeks later. Additionally, the Johnnies will open February at home against Georgetown. CBS will air that contest. The Red Storm will get on CBS once more when they travel to Seton Hall in late February.

Considering that St. John’s may struggle in Mike Anderson’s first season, the Big East slate is relatively favorable.

For one, the month of January is arguably the most manageable portion of the conference slate. If the Red Storm can pick up some victories early in Big East play, they could increase confidence before a very tough February.

Also, St. John’s will only play three Big East games at Carnesecca. The rest of their conference matchups will be played at Madison Square Garden. The only three teams that won’t play the Johnnies at MSG are Butler, Providence, and Creighton.

As for that reasonable stretch at the front of conference play, St. John’s will open on New Year’s Eve at Carnesecca Arena against Butler. After a couple of road games at Xavier and Georgetown respectively, they come back home for DePaul. The rest of January includes road trips to Providence, Marquette, and DePaul. Mixed in between those road contests are home games against Seton Hall and Villanova.

Moving into February, the Red Storm will play six games that month. Four of those games come against Georgetown, Xavier, Seton Hall, and Villanova. Those four teams could likely finish as the top four teams in the conference.

The regular season will conclude for St. John’s during the first week of March. The season concludes home against Creighton, at Butler, and finally at home for Marquette.

Below you can find the full St. John’s schedule for the 2019-2020 season.


  • Wed. Oct. 30 QUEENS COLLEGE (Exh.) Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 7 p.m. ESPN3
  • Wed. Nov. 6 MERCER Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 6:30 p.m. FS1
  • Sat. Nov. 9 CENTRAL CONNECTICUT STATE Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 4 p.m. FS2
  • Tues. Nov. 12 NEW HAMPSHIRE Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 7 p.m. FS2
  • Sat. Nov. 16 VERMONT* Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 4 p.m. FS2
  • Wed. Nov. 20 COLUMBIA* Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 7 p.m. FS1
  • Hall of Fame Tip-Off Tournament:
  • Sat. Nov. 23 vs. Arizona State Uncasville, Conn. (Mohegan Sun Arena) 2:30 p.m. ESPN3
  • Sun. Nov. 24 vs. Virginia/UMass Uncasville, Conn. (Mohegan Sun Arena) 1/3:30 p.m. ESPN/ESPN2
  • Sat. Nov. 30 WAGNER Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 12 p.m. FS2
  • Tues. Dec. 3 SAINT PETER’S Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 6:30 p.m. FS1
  • Sat. Dec. 7 WEST VIRGINIA New York, N.Y. (Madison Square Garden) 12 p.m. FS1
  • Tues. Dec. 10 BROWN Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 7 p.m. FS1
  • Wed. Dec. 18 ALBANY Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 8:30 p.m. FS1
  • Hall of Fame Al Attles Classic: Sat. Dec. 21 vs. Arizona San Francisco, Calif. (Chase Center) 10 p.m. ESPN2
  • Tues. Dec. 31 BUTLER Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 7:30 p.m. FS1
  • Sat. Jan. 5 at Xavier Cincinnati, Ohio (Cintas Center) 12/4:30 p.m. FOX
  • Wed. Jan. 8 at Georgetown Washington, D.C. (Capital One Arena) 6:30 p.m. FS1
  • Sat. Jan. 11 DePAUL New York, N.Y. (Madison Square Garden) 12 p.m. FSN
  • Wed. Jan. 15 at Providence Providence, R.I. (Dunkin’ Donuts Center) 8:30 p.m. FS1
  • Sat. Jan. 18 SETON HALL New York, N.Y. (Madison Square Garden) 12 p.m. FOX
  • Tues. Jan. 21 at Marquette Milwaukee, Wis. (Fiserv Forum) 9 p.m. FS1
  • Sat. Jan. 25 at DePaul Chicago, Ill. (Wintrust Arena) 2 p.m. FS1
  • Tues. Jan. 28 VILLANOVA New York, N.Y. (Madison Square Garden) 6:30/7 p.m. FS1
  • Sun. Feb. 2 GEORGETOWN New York, N.Y. (Madison Square Garden) 1 p.m. CBS
  • Sat. Feb. 8 at Creighton Omaha, Neb. (CHI Health Center Omaha) TBD CBSSN
  • Wed. Feb. 12 PROVIDENCE Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 8:30 p.m. CBSSN
  • Mon. Feb. 17 XAVIER New York, N.Y. (Madison Square Garden) 6:30 p.m. FS1
  • Sun. Feb. 23 at Seton Hall Newark, N.J. (Prudential Center) 2 p.m. CBS
  • Wed. Feb. 26 at Villanova Villanova, Pa. (Finneran Pavilion) 6:30 p.m. FS1
  • Sun. March 1 CREIGHTON Queens, N.Y. (Carnesecca Arena) 12 p.m. FS1
  • Wed. March 4 at Butler Indianapolis, Ind. (Hinkle Fieldhouse) 7 p.m. CBSSN
  • Sat. March 7 MARQUETTE New York, N.Y. (Madison Square Garden) 12 p.m. FSN

***Wed.-Sat. March 11-14 BIG EAST Tournament New York, N.Y. (Madison Square Garden) TBD FS1/FOX***