clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

John McGriff declares intent to transfer from St. John’s

The Red Storm see a second guard choose to move on after two years in Mike Anderson’s program.

Wendell Cruz

Johnathan McGriff, Mike Anderson’s first recruit after receiving the head coaching job at St. John’s, is moving on from the program, entering the transfer portal. (Expand the tweet below to see what McGriff has to say.)

The 6’0” guard from Maryland spent two seasons — and played one — with St. John’s after redshirting his freshman year, while he recovered from shoulder surgery. A highlight reel of speed, handle and flashy passes, McGriff did not get a chance to see extended minutes throughout the season.

He did, however, play a big minutes in the comeback against Seton Hall in March, a game where St. John’s spotted the Pirates 18 points to start the game. McGriff scored a career-high five points against Stony Brook with four assists.

But with Rasheem Dunn and Posh Alexander getting major minutes, time was not available for McGriff. And next season, with transfer Stef Smith and incoming wing Rafael Pinzon, more playing time is likely available somewhere else.

Good luck to McGriff.

Brenden Willsch

The Red Storm will look different next season with Cole and Moore transferring from the program, and Rasheem Dunn also departing (players can get another year of eligibility, so seniors can play one more season). David Caraher graduated earlier this season and has also transferred to High Point University, and grad transfer Arnaldo Toro will likely not return.

Three recruits are coming next season — Rafael Pinzon, a 6’5” wing who plays internationally for Puerto Rico and locally for Long Island Lutheran, his 6’8” teammate Drissa Traore, and forward O’Mar Stanley from the Kansas City area. Esaiah Nywie, a 6’10” forward, has practiced with the team and will join next season.

St. John’s has at least three spots to fill. The core of the team will be:

Posh Alexander, Julian Champagnie, Greg Williams Jr., Marcellus Earlington, Dylan Addae-Wusu, Stef Smith, plus the four newcomers.