clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D`Angelo Harrison wins Haggerty Award as NYC Player of the Year

Harrison, suspended last season, has made a full comeback; and the NYC-area Basketball Writers noticed.

John Alber

D`Angelo Harrison's season of redemption now comes with hardware, as St. John's top scorer wins the 2014 Haggerty Award as the top New York City area player, as awarded by the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association.

Manhattan coach Steve Masiello won the Coach of the Year Award, and Fordham's Jon Severe won the Rookie of the Year honors.

Honorees will be recognized tonight at the 91st annual All-Met College Basketball Awards Dinner.

"D`Angelo has put in the work and it paid dividends all season long," said St. John's head coach Steve Lavin. "His performance on the court and leadership of the team have been outstanding and will serve as a catalyst for his senior season."

"The award is special to me for a few reasons," said Harrison. "One, because it's named after the great Frank Haggerty, who was a St. John's basketball and baseball star who died during World War II. I am humbled to accept this award in Lieutenant Haggerty's memory. This is also a great honor because even though St. John's players have received this award the most throughout history, a St. John's player hasn't been honored with this award since 2002. I am grateful to be able to bring this back to our campus and represent so many who have come before me."

Harrison is now 10th in St. John's history with 1,601 career points, and is only 327 from surpassing Felipe Lopez and the all-time top three (third, 1,927 points, 1995-98). Harrison averaged 17.5 points/ game this season.

From the Haggerty Award website:


D`Angelo Harrison, St. John's     • 6-4, Jr, G • (Missouri City, TX)
Sean Armand, Iona • 6-5, Sr, G • (Brooklyn, NY)
George Beamon, Manhattan • 6-4, Sr, G/F • (Roslyn, NY)
Jason Brickman, LIU • 6-0, Sr, G • (San Antonio, TX)
Fuquan Edwin, Seton Hall • 6-6, Sr, G • (Paterson, NJ)
Jameel Warney, Stony Brook     • 6-8, So, F • (Plainfield, NJ)


A.J. English, Iona • 6-0, So, G • (Wilmington, DE)
Rhamel Brown, Manhattan • 6-7, Sr, F/C • (Brooklyn, NY)
JaKarr Sampson, St. John's • 6-9, So, F • (Akron, OH)
Kyle Wilson, Army • 6-4, So, G/F • (Mission Viejo, CA)
Alex Rosenberg, Columbia • 6-7, Jr, F • (Short Hills, NJ)
Branden Frazier, Fordham • 6-3, Sr, G • (Brooklyn, NY)


David Laury, Iona • 6-9, Jr, F • (E. Orange, NJ)
Kadeem Jack, Rutgers • 6-9, Jr, F • (Queens, NY)
Sidney Sanders Jr., FDU • 5-11, Sr, G • (Charleston, SC)
Myles Mack, Rutgers • 5-9, Jr, G • (Paterson, NJ)
Zeke Upshaw, Hofstra • 6-6, Gr, F • (Chicago, IL)
Eugene Teague, Seton Hall • 6-9, Sr, C • (Vineland, NJ)

Haggerty Player of the YearD`Angelo Harrison, St. John's
Rookie of the YearJon Severe, Fordham
Peter A. Carlesimo Coach of the YearSteve Masiello, Manhattan